You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Nowadays people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, in the world of modern information technologies, people prefer online communication and staying up-to-date by using social media services instead of traditional forms of communication. In my opinion, this trend has more positives than drawbacks. One obvious positive effect of using social media for communication is its accessibility across geographical barriers and time zones. Within a short period of time, the availability of online media services revolutionized various aspects of people ’s lives, making communication much easier and more accessible. People from all over the world can keep in touch with their friends, relatives, colleagues, and acquaintances even without going out anywhere. All they need is to make a video call, turn on the camera, and they can talk with each other in real- time. Such technologies proved to be vitally important when they helped many people around the world during the COVID-19 quarantine and crisis period. At that time, people were restricted from leaving their houses to meet each other. Moreover, social media platforms facilitate the circulation of online news, providing instant updates from around the world. This way, they help people stay up-to-date and enable them to share news and their personal views with others. Last but not least, social networks are also decent platforms for business communication, with the help of which professionals have the opportunity to promote their personal brands or start-up projects to a wider audience. As a result, it increases brand awareness and develops engagement with their customers. However, despite the immediacy and convenience, communication via social platforms has some negative aspects as well. The main disadvantage is the decrease in face-to-face communication and the lack of interactions. Due to the excessive time spent on social media, people are most likely to get used to texting each other and start preferring online communication over in-person meetings. As a result, this trend may cause problems with communication skills and even lead to isolation or depression. In addition to this, people need to always be very careful while perceiving any news shared on social platforms, as not all the information can be reliable and trustworthy. Consequently, overreliance on social networks may lead to misinformation and misguidance among the users, which in turn may negatively affect them on a personal, academic, and professional level. Overall, the benefits of social media usage for communication and news awareness outweigh the drawbacks because it is widely accessible and convenient in terms of saving time and improving communication and brand awareness in the business sphere.