In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax provate car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Some people think that governments shall implement strict taxes to vehicles owners as a mean to improve public transportation and fix traffic issues. In this essay I will disscuss both perspectives, and state the main advantages or disadvantages to such measure. The main benefits from taxation to improve public transportation systems would be the reduction of carbon emissions and prevention of traffic jams. On one hand, cars fueled by oil emit a considerable amount of gases to the atmosphere; therefore a way to minimize this damage would be the usage of public transportation, since trains, buses or metros do not release gases in the same amount as the vehicles. According to a recent study made by VOX, at least 50% of greenhouse gases are emited by cars, thus restricting their movement would contribute to reduce this effects. Moreover, most of the traffic impeditions are due to the high rate of cars that ocassionate traffic jams at rush hours, this could be improved by people opting to make use of the public transportation systems, since they are quite faster in contrast to private methods of transport; in addition to the fact that these public transportation systems are well distributed around cities, have their rails or route, facilitating the flow of cars. As for the drawbacks, heavily taxation would provoke an inbalance of the car owners economy. To rely solely on citizen's contributions would detriment houses economy; as well as foster the possibility of taxation avoidance in order to maintain a balanced budget. For example, if a nuclear family owns one car and has one source of income, the taxation could affect their home finances, resulting in prorrates of payments or not paying at all, in order to protest against those solutions. To illustrate, in third-world countries, where the traffic jams are quite remarkable, the local governments implemented such measures as heavily taxate taxable car owners. The result was the increase of crimes like tax evation, since families would need the money to make ends meet, but at the same time, they also rely on their cars to manage their daily lives. In conclusion, the strict measure of taxation car owners could seem like the best solution to resolve traffic issues and enhance the usage of public transportation systems. Furthermore, there is a need to balance the advantages such as environmental protection, and a better traffic flow, against its drawbacks, which consist on the possibility of tax evation. It is important to bear in mind that governments need to convey efforts to find a better solution to traffic problems, in order to fix traffic issues.