Write about the following topic: More and more people today want to own famous brands of clothes, cars and other llems. What are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In contemporary society, more and more people are willing to spend money on popular brands of clothes, cars, perfumes, and jewellery items that can cost an arm and a leg. In my opinion, this recent trend has detrimental consequences for adolescents which I will explain in this essay.There are more demerits than merits associated with this latest change in the behaviour of the current generation. In this essay, I will expound on the negative influence of this transformation with supporting evidence. To begin with, one of the major reasons behind this brand consciousness in people is a recent change in thinking of modern society. Earlier, people used to give more importance to the ethical and moral values of a person than the living standards of an individual. Nowadays, everyone wants to achieve a high standard of living just to gain recognition in the society. Regrettably, many believe that it is imperative for them to use expensive brands to gain high status. For instance, Nowadays, a vast majority of people have set high standards of living because these brands are a source of joy for them. Because many people feel accepted in modern society and feel elated after spending their money on expensive brands, they also encourage their friends and family to spend money on such items. Nevertheless, the negative influence of this recent trend can not be ignored. Firstly, modern society is rife with corruption, and petty thefts after this trend. As middle-class people cannot afford expensive brands and luxury cars,they resort to crimes and corruption. Secondly, youngsters can suffer from depression and anxiety when they feel that they can not enjoy such luxuries. In addition, this trend has not only created a dysfunctional society but has also caused social dilemmas in recent years. Moreover, teenagers are getting badly affected by this scenario,as now the younger generation will only consider materialistic things valuable and will not attach any value to ethical values. In conclusion, I decry this recent development, as it will create issues like petty thefts, connivance,corruption and greed. Therefore, the cumulative impact of this change is adverse. The government should make strict policies to control the alarming consequences of this issue.