It is inevitable that as technology develops traditional cultures must be lost. Technology and tradition are incompatible – you cannot have both together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this fast-paced era, the advancement of technology is growing rapidly. Therefore, there is an argument that says technological advancement will obviously diminish traditional cultures. This essay is totally disagrees with that statement because we can use technologies to preserve heritages. Firstly, thanks to the rapid advancement of the internet, right now you can easily find digitalized manuscript that contain many informations about our ancestors in the form of e-book on several website; and makes it immutable on the internet. On the other hand, if we do not store those manuscripts digitally, there is a high possibility that they will be lost or stolen. Therefore, it is necessary to documented them and put it on the cloud storage. Take Greece for instance, since 2014 the government there has started to digitalized the ancient greek scrolls because in 2008 several pieces of those scrolls were stolen. Secondly, because nowadays younger generations tend to use gadgets to relax instead of playing with their friend outside, we can utilize this phenomenon to educate them about traditional cultures. For example, many mobile game developers in Indonesia have transformed traditional games into mobile games that can be played on smartphone and are available to download at Google play store and Apple store; surprisingly those games have been downloaded more than a million times. As a result, many teenagers in Indonesia right now are highly familiar with the traditional games that their parents played during their childhood. In conclusion, it is obvious that technology could preserve our heritages through several methods, such as storing ancient scrolls on cloud storage and makes the digital version of traditional games.