In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

It is widely acknowledged that in many parts of the world, adolescents are encouraged to take a gap year before attending college. While there are admittedly several drawbacks, I still believe that the positive influences of this tendency are more considerable. On the one hand, taking some time off for travel and work before starting university life is disadvantageous to a certain extent because it may discourage some students from pursuing further education. First of all, traveling may be harmful to their emotional and mental well-being. Because of traveling, they will be far away from their friends, family, and travel costs are frequently exorbitant for the young to see their loving regularly. Furthermore, it is impossible for young people to enjoy their experiences in doing a job or traveling to a novel place but still manage an amount of time for revision, which may make them reluctant to resume the university curriculum. On the other hand, traveling or working before starting college provides significant benefits to knowledge and personal finance. The young will have opportunities to broaden their horizons about cultural heritage that may not be evident in a traditional classroom setting. If high school leavers have one year off dedicated to traveling and new experiences, they will enable to explore their interests to make wise education decisions. A gap year allows students to step back from the academic environment and explore different aspects of themselves. Accordingly, they will be more responsible and learn how to plan their lives ahead of time. In conclusion, while taking a gap year is not without harmful aspects, I would contend that the given advantages make it become a good idea