Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Traditionally, high school seniors will either pursue college or enter the workforce after graduation. However, these days, a third option - gap year, where students defer university enrollment to travel or work – is gaining traction. While there are admittedly several benefits to students, I believe that the negative influences of this practice are more glaring. On the one hand, delaying tertiary education for one year is advantageous to a certain extent. First, a gap year affords new graduates time to travel and immerse themselves in alien cultures, which helps them enrich their life experiences and hone practical skills. For example, when living abroad, students will have to adapt quickly to their independent lives and pick up new languages. Second, given that most high schools provide inadequate career guidance, spending several months looking for job opportunities or attending vocational training courses will empower students to identify a suitable career path. Such experiences would be hardly attainable if high school graduate immediately enroll in university and become occupied with their intense study schedules. On the other hand, I am convinced that the aforementioned advantages pale in comparison with the significant disadvantages of having a year -long break prior to embarking on higher education. A major drawback is that gap - year takers may fall behind in their studies as well as face peer pressure, which could possibly drain their self-confidence. In addition to this, high school seniors can lose momentum, finding it hard to resume their education after a long time being away from formal schooling. Last but not least, young people who decide to work instead of going to college right away are unlikely to save up a lot of money or cultivate relevant job skills during their gap year, which can be attributed to the fact that jobs available to high school leaver are mainly entry-level ones that neither get rumination well nor teach them anything substantive. In conclusion, while taking a gap year is not without certain beneficiaries, I would contend that the given disadvantages do not make it a worthwhile path.