Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are some arguments that foreigners living in other countries face a wide range of social problems as well as practical issues due to the language barrier. From my perspective, I totally agree with this point of view for the following reasons. In terms of the difficulties of reality, there is a gap between native speakers and language learners, therefore, they will have difficulty in communicating with locals in their daily lives. This is because the majority of countries are monolingual and only speak their own language. For example, even Chinese people study English at a very young age, however, most people don' t learn English so well that they can communicate with English individuals fluently, not mention to the elderly residents who even did not receive tertiary education. For instance, an international student might have trouble when he wants to buy himself lunch in the university's canteen because the staff couldn' t understand him if he can not speak Chinese well. Personally speaking, I have helped a lot of international students at my university who were under a similar embarrassing situation. As a result, if visitors dislike coping with these practical issues caused by linguistic difficulties,they need to exert themselves in language learning before they go abroad. Moreover, as for social problems, a foreigner might find it not easy to integrate with the locals due to the cultural differences, this could be seen in terms of average personality traits, living habits, hidden rules, social values and so on, especially when this person doesn' t master their languages. Take the Japanese as an example, the Japanese public is relatively more introverted and mild,they prefers to hide their feelings from others and use hints to subtly imply their opinions. On the contrary, American populations are quite straightforward and express their thoughts bravely. As a result, an American tourist might can' t understand the obscure way of expression of Japanese and causes the misunderstanding between each other. In this case,visitors should not only learn other nations' languages but also their cultures. Certainly, I don' t deny that some people say that tourists can travel around the world without mastering various languages. While this may be true up to a point, the fact is that they only travel or stay for a short period in most cases, thus it is not suitable for people who want to live for decades. To summarize, if people want to study or settle down in foreign countries, there is a great necessity for them to make efforts to learn languages, as well as their culture and history. It can help them to cope with social awkwardness and practical problems.