It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Nowadays, a variety of youngsters don’t understand the difference between right and wrong. Also, some people claim that punishment is the best way to learn this distinction, while others believe that punishments affect children’s psychological states in a damaging way. I strongly concur that parents must give their child’s punishment, however; not too harshly. To begin with, toddlers are fast learners due to they don’t know anything about life, so they can learn everything with baby steps. Unfortunately, we cannot say the same thing for youngsters. That means they can easily be affected by their furious behavior or get bad exam results from school. Therefore, punishments are really necessary to learn right and wrong. For instance, parents can limit TV time based on the children’s performances. If a child brings home a bad mark from school, parents can oblige the child to practice more. Besides, parents can tell their children which one is their greatest friend. Moreover, at schools, teachers also try to find suitable methods to punish their students. To illustrate, they can have conferences about behaviors and exam grades and tell them that if they don’t change themselves, they have to deal with consequences. According to a film that I watched, in Turkey, above 60 years ago in schools, especially in math lessons, when a child couldn’t solve a challenging problem, teachers were beating the child’s for no reason. For this reason, some people are traumatized by school, so they don’t want to go. To sum up, all children are different; hence, there might be different methods needed. There cannot be a perfect punishment for bad acts, and parents or teachers should apply penalties carefully and consciously.