Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries?

Over the recent years there has been enormous increase of deaths even if the disease is curable because some individuals cannot afford the essential medication. One solution could be reducing the prices of the drugs so that everyone can afford them. Although there are arguments on both side but I strongly believe that reducing the rates of the medication is definitely a positive approach. There are more number of convincing arguments that states there are people who still believe in humanity and would like to contribute in the well being of their community. In addition, drug manufacturing companies would not have major consequences on their profit rates if they can contribute a small portion towards providing subsidized rates to the needful mankind. Not only this, If government can recognize the people fighting to survive in life threatening disease and give them discounts on their prescription during the treatment then majority of the problem can be handled. For instance, in 2023 a renowned medicine industry in India used their profits to provide free medication to the cancer institutions all over the country which helped more than 50,000 people. Thus, programs like these are greatly appreciated. On the other side there are some adverse usage of medication that can be seen in some parts of our society such as wrongful use of drugs as source of getting high due to its easy availability. Although even when the price is reduced by the manufacturers, the local suppliers are putting markup on top to maximise their selling price which leads to common people again receiving the medication on same cost. Therefore, drug companies cannot change the situation alone. To conclude, it is evident that drug companies can start the process of reducing cost of the medication to save lives but it is the responsibility of the society to play fair practices so that less people can die due to medication unavailability.