News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

News, broadcasted on either television or newspaper, is a combination of sound and pictures. People believe that animations, videos, and pictures are crucial as they help in comprehending headlines easily while others oppose it. This essay will shed light on the importance of visuals in news stories with some appropriate examples. Having animated cartoons, flow charts, and pictures along with audio grabs the interest of the audience. People will not find it monotonous and tiring, as just listening to sound could be boring sometimes. Reading a big news article related to science, technology, and climate is interesting when it is accompanied by images. People are 90% more curious to read the articles which have visuals, as per a recent magazine report. Moreover, listening to the news without animation could be confusing. If we just hear from a news reporter, it could be quite challenging to properly follow the events as the brain might get jumbled up with so much information. When we have pictures and a timeline accompanied by audio, the mind processes the information in chronological order. Audiences hearing to news on the radio tend to process information in the wrong way, as per a recent article in the renowned newspaper. Additionally, pictures have a long-lasting impact on our memory and we tend to remember incidents quickly. Our brain correlates and stores its own images when we see colours and figures, making it easy to recollect and retain. The brain forms its own figures while watching a video of a tourist attack or the construction of a new highway. Sharing the highlights of news becomes easy when it is watched along with a short colourful video. Lastly, pictures are easy to read. People, nowadays, do not have time to sit and read articles due to long working hours and traffic congestion on roads. Through diagrams and graphs, it is easy to understand the news in seconds. They need not spend 15-20 minutes on each news story. Pictures along with text are a need in the busy and hectic schedule of people. To conclude, pictures are an important element in news headlines as they help in quick comprehension, unlike sound which makes it dull. News along with visuals is the need of the hour.