The government should control the amount of violence in films and on the television in order to decrease the level of violent crime in the society. To what extent you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, mass media generate significant impact on public thoughts and behaviours. Therefore, violent scenes in movies or television series are blamed for the rising crime rate in society. In order to tackle this problem, some people propose that it is the government that should regulate the amount of violence in those programs, and some hold the opposite opinion. In this essay, I will express my opinion by considering both perspectives. People advocating this statement do have a good point. Although without a scientific proof, it is a common sense that being exposed to plenty of violent wrongdoings from motion pictures, may unintentionally change the perception to criminal conduct. This cause significantly detrimental effects on adolescents’ personal development, as they are particularly susceptible to their environment. Due to frequent presentation of aggressive behaviour, alongside the coarse languages from the screens, there is a great chance of teenagers perceive these phenomena are socially acceptable and normalise them. As a consequence, teenagers cultivate the thoughts of imitating the actions that they observed from the movies. In the worst scenario, young adults that are lack of law-abidingness may go astray and get involved into organised crimes. Thus, it can be seen that authority must shoulder the responsibility to censor entertaining programs that contain explicit scenes of violence. On the contrary, entertaining programs supervised under government could exploits the right of free speech that should be granted to every individual. Take documentaries as an example. If the intention is to chronicle a genuine story involving a gangster, does this imply that such content should never be brought to screen? if genuine realities are prohibited from being shared, not only it will stunt the progress of entertainment industry, but also the artistic expression across various media forms that may be interpreted as violence or other sensitivity subjects. Consequently, it impedes the advancement of art and the cultural evolution of the nation. In conclusion, I agree that certain extent of censorship should be enforced by the government as a means to reduce the crime rate. However, relevant departments should also commence a large-scale of public education of the justice system and legislations. This should be the more appropriate solution for maintaining the social security and the social development.