Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is responsibility for the individuals to protect themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While a group of people believe that protecting society against crime is one of the government's duties, others consider a responsibility to individuals. There are rational arguments on both sides of this contentious topic which will be discussed in detail, followed by my own take on the matter. On the one hand, each person ought to protect themselves from being offended by offenders. To begin with, people make decisions for their life therefore, they ought to be careful about risky choices and positions. For instance, an individual is good to be careful about the atmosphere when buying a house for his family. Moreover, if the area has insecure conditions for living and the rate of crime is high in that zone head of a family should consider these statutes before choosing the flat. On the other hand, there is another idea that taking care of ordinary people among criminals is one of the government's national tasks. In other words, each central government is required to take some precautionary measures to tackle crimes. More specifically, they consider special action which might be providing punishments to make fear among potential offenders who might commit a crime in future. A good example of this, is in some countries there are TV programs that illustrate some punishment for the amount of crime based on their law to prevent more convicts in future. In conclusion, both views present rational reasons for their ideas, on balance, however, my personal belief is that preventing a community from crime is more than a national task for the government than a job for citizens.