Many young people do not spend their holidays and weekends doing outdoor activities like hiking and climbing in natural environments. Why? How can they be encouraged to go out?

In today’s modern society, people tend to stay indoors spending their holidays and days off instead of going outside, which I believe would have a negative impact on one’s health. In this essay, I will explain the main reason for this trend and give effective suggestions to tackle this issue. To begin with, in today’s fast-changing world, people nowadays spend more time on their work to strive for their best performance in order to stand out among their colleagues. After a long week of work, people often feel exhausted. As a result, they tend to stay at home to relax and recharge. Moreover, outdoor activities such as hiking and camping are time-consuming and physically demanding, which reduces the willingness of people to do so. Plus, most people do not know the advantages of exercising, which also reduces their interest in sports. However, some approaches can be taken to tackle the problem. To begin with, the government can hold some educational campaigns to preach the benefits of doing outdoor activities and can raise their self-awareness of adopting a healthy lifestyle. By doing so, citizens may realize the importance of exercising, and they may be more willing to go out. What’s more, to encourage individuals, the authority can establish a compulsory day off for physical health. Once a month, employees can be required to take paid leave to attend sporting events, as long as they have relevant supporting documents, the managers should approve it. In conclusion, due to the overwhelming workload and lack of knowledge about the benefits of outdoor exercise, decreasing engagement in going outside can be observed. However, I believe that this problem can be solved by implementing some new policies and regulations. In this way, people can stay healthier than before.