Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some argue that today’s main environmental challenge is the extinction of certain classes of plants and animals, while others believe that there are more significant issues related to environment. It is agreed that while some specific types of plants and animals are endangered by hazardous ecological patterns, extreme weather conditions are causing droughts and floods which are detrimental to human existence. This essay will first highlight the impact of climate change on plants and animals and thereafter it will provide an analysis of other life-impacting environmental complications. There is no denying the fact that abnormality in our ecosystem has threatened some important types of animals and plants. Resultantly, those endangered species completely disappeared from the surface of the earth as in the case of dinosaurs. For instance, a recent report published by the world wide ecological department revealed that the number of extinct species grew to 2.3% from 1.9%. However, many species of plants and animals have successfully adapted to new patterns of environment and surviving well. Needless to say that variation in climatic conditions has altered the ecological configuration and posed novel threats to the existence of humans. Abrupt environmental conditions have created extreme weather conditions, heat waves, global warming, prolonged seasons, droughts as well as floods. A case in reference is a recent report published by the UN reveals that recent floods that hit the South Asian areas magnified the number of displaced persons and caused unprecedented monetary loss. In summary, although there are species of animals and plants that are vanishing due to environmental changes, as long as the ecological behavior is studied, the more serious threats are noticed which are causing immeasurable loss to humans.