In many professional sports, the use of banned substances to enhance performance is on the rise. what are the causes and solutions.

Many professional athletes are using illegal substances in order to improve their performance. This essay will discuss some of the causes of this phenomenon such as the pressure on players to win and their desire to earn more money. This can be solved by implementing stricter testing policies and giving players heavier punishment. One of the causes why players are using performance-enhancing drugs is because most of them are pressured to win. The pressure from their coach, family, and friends can cause them to try these substances. They think that using them can improve their ability to win because it provides them with better endurance. In addition, winning can make them a star player and give them opportunities to have bigger sponsorships. These sponsorships can earn them millions of dollars. For instance, Roger Federer has signed a deal with Uniqlo that will last up to 10 years. And he will earn 300 million dollars in this sponsorship. In order to solve substance abuse among professional athletes, stricter policy testing and heavier punishment can be implemented. Sports commissions can conduct more frequent testing among them and use advanced technology that can detect even the minimal amount of drugs in the body. Moreover, heavy punishments such as suspending players to play for a lifetime and paying a hefty amount of money can help athletes think twice before using illegal drugs. In conclusion, performance-enhancing drugs are becoming popular among professional athletes because they may feel the pressure to win the game and in order to generate more money. Implementation of more strict testing and heavier penalties can be a good solution to solve this problem.