A section of the society holds the belief that content telecasted by various channels offers no actual benetits for the younger audiences.

A section of the society holds the belief that content telecasted by various channels offers no actual benetits benefit for the younger audiences. In my conviction adult content on TV may have negative psychological effects on children whereas, by watching educational programmes, they can gain knowledge Therefore, I wish to partially agree with the captioned statement. To begin with, watching age-inappropriate material on television may negatively impact mental health and stability of voung viewers. In my opinion, children have the tendency to imitate adult behavior withoutquestioning the morality of such actions. When they are exposed to negative adult conduct on television such as violence, substance use and bad language, they may follow such actions, and as a result they mav inculcate substandard behavior as well. To illustrate this, accordina to an article which appeared on New York Times in December 2023, it was revealed that 68% of underaged crimes in the US have been conducted by teens, who were influenced by violent content such as WWE on television. Hence, it is evident that adult material on Specific example television may nave a dement erect on minors. On the other hand, by viewing educational content such as documentaries, quizzes and news programmes, children may enhance curricular and general knowledge. According to my observations, IV can deliver impactrul audio-visual experience, which maybe used as an effective learning aid to educate the youngsters. Therefore, some countries TV is used as an educational tool tamprove their language and vocabulary and also develop their skills and logical thinking. For example, during the Covid lockdown in 2020, when children were confined fo their homes. the national television in I Sri Lanka, telecasted programmes to support them in their GCE test preparation. Thus, I sincerely believe that television can be used effectively to educate the younger generation. In conclusion, children who tend to imitate negative adult actions on TV may inculcate immoral and substandard behavior. In contrast, the young viewers who are encouraged to watch educational programmes may improve their knowledge and all-round skills. As such, this writer Is In partlal agreement with the notion that television programmes are of no real value for children.