Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

An intake of ultra-processed food with a high level of artificial sugar added has led to many diseases. Therefore, many governments have proposed that this type of food should cost more in order to prevent its consumption. Although it is one of the measurements that should be taken into account, I believe that many others should be contemplated in parallel. In this essay, I will explain my reasons in detail. To start with, it is clear that when the products are pricey, many people might avoid buying them. Thus, it forces people to search for alternatives. For example, in Colombia, from 2020 there is a law that regulates the costs of sugar-added food by imposing a tax of 15%. As a consequence of this, the sales of these goods have gone downhill by 45% approximately. Besides, overweight and obesity have dropped by 10% in children, mainly in those families with a low or middle socioeconomic status. Then, despite the fact that these conditions could work, they should be managed carefully due to their unequal impact on societies. Conversely, humankind has to be aware of the food that is unhealthy, hence, health promotion and disease prevention campaigns as policies of public health should be increased in all groups of ages. For instance, in Colombia, most schools and universities have changed their curriculums in order to implement sessions in which nutritional parameters are taught. As a result, almost 20% of the students have replaced junk food with fruits and vegetables. To sum up, an expensive price for food with a high level of carbohydrates is considered an extreme measurement. Nevertheless, more regulations should be done and preventative health should be implemented as a remarkable task.