lastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

It is undeniable that bags, bottles, and packages made out of plastic are detrimental to the environment. This not only alters the ecosystem but also creates a negative impact on humans as well as the natural habitat. The government and individuals can take various initiatives to solve this problem. To begin with, tonnes of plastic products are released to the environment everyday. This is becoming an acute problem as it leads to alter the natural ecosystem affecting the livelihood of humans as well as the animals. People are no longer able to breathe fresh air or drink safe drinking water. On the other hand, the species are no longer able to live in their natural environment. A study conducted by Marine Biologists in the USA indicated that 70% of marine species had died as a result of plastics released to the ocean. To solve this issue, the government and individuals can take several measures. Firstly, the authorities need to implement a law to ban usage of plastics while encouraging usage of paper alternatives to mitigate the issue. For example, the government could introduce a law to fine people who are using plastics and reward individuals who uses paper alternatives in their daily life. This can encourage more and more citizens to avoid using plastic products. Secondly, as global citizens, every individual needs to take a self-pledge to protect the environment. This can be initiated within the communities by creating awareness on the repercussions of using no-degradable products. In conclusion, non-degradable products such as plastics are detrimental to the ecosystem. The people in power and the society can solve these problems by implementing regulations as well as by being individually responsible for the cause.