Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To that extent do you agree or disagree.

There is a common belief that educational institutions such as schools are responsible for taking care of only the academic success of students. While I agree that schools should provide pupils with a variety of skills that can be implemented for effective learning or future career building, I would highlight my personal point that other unrelated skills should be a free choice of each and learned through their lives, out of academic activities. Trying to mix the certain range of diverse occupations while studying in school with the intention to make studying funnier or broaden students' horizons often can lead to the opposite effect. In other words, the excessive amount of diversification in activities can lead to confusion of interests and loss of focus, which, therefore, leads to a poor performance in all subjects. For example, additional classes including cookery, dressmaking and woodwork in Soviet Union were extracted in the new educational system, as it showed a lower index in pupils' performance on examed subjects. In terms of the importance in being able to cook or make things with one's hands, all the related skills fortunately can be taught in a home by ancestors, or by simple single practice, or with friends. Thus, transforming the process into opportunity to make new memories with close ones and settling the strong boundaries between an academic areas of life and creativity, making it easier to consider those occupations as off-time and strictly concentrate on studies in educational institutions. In conclusion, exposing people by an extra amount of opportunities and subjects to choose from is not necessarily a beneficial idea, because it can distract us, because minimalism, a great state of flow, and a deep focus mode are sometimes everything we need for a good performance. Also, an opportunity to learn creative skills by oneselef making it seem even more illogical idea.