Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some consider that popular consumer goods numerously sold with the assistance of advertising do not accord with what society really needs. In this essay, I fully agree with the statement and will support it with reasons and examples. On the one hand, many merchandise well-sold because of great advertising might not be as great as what they were advertised. Take the Huawei mobile phone as an example, there are many kinds of official advertisements about how intelligent this production is. Particularly, the phone’s waterproof function was the most highly advertised, however, there are many complaints about its ability to waterproof not concur with the description in the advertises. In this case, a lot of consumers have possibly been deceived by those attractive advertisements, which means hardly could them get a goods that satisfy their demands although they might cost a lot. On the other hand, the surplus of advertisements might increase the cost of consumers. For instance, those companies that increased their funds for publicizing, might raise the price of the advertised productions as well, although there have not been any substantial changes, which means the corporation possibly allocated the expenditure to the productional prices, which is why buyers would pointlessly cost more to buy the same products. By contrast, they might save a lot of their money on the same goods. In conclusion, while the merchandise that is well-advertised could attract more buyers, they might not concur with what consumers really need because of its exaggerated description and increased prices.