Some countries spend a lot of money preparing competitors to take part in major competitions such as Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people say that it would be better to spend this money encouraging children to take up sports from a young age.   To what extent do you agree or disagree?  Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is important to consider how to use money to develop countries' career of sports. Some people believe there must be some necessity spending money on preparing for vital competitions, while others argue that it must be a better way to spend money on kids to motivate them to do more sports. I think both of these aims are great, but money on them should be used wisely and in reasonable proportion. Competitors taking part into major competitions is very important for the development of sports in a country. Therefore, spending money on this field is necessary. For example, Chinese government has invested a lot in the sport of pingpong ping-pong. Thanks to this financial support, Chinese competitors have been encouraged to treat every pingpong ping-pong competition seriously. As a result, there is no doubt that, China is the most excellent country in Olympic Games in the field of pingpong ping-pong. If there is no financial support, the result may be a reverse. In addition to this, although spending money motivating kids to take part into sports from a young age is a good thing, I would argue that this money should be some extra money rather than some money which is prepared for major competitions. Nowadays, children's health is more and more important in every country. Using money to encourage children to do sports from a young age is a good way to enhance children's immune system and keep them healthy. However, government should organise extra money which needs to be used in this field. If government just remove the investment which belongs to Olympic Games' or football World Cup' competitors to develop children's sports, there must be a huge of dissatisfaction of the whole society. To sum up, we not only need to spend money preparing competitors to win the big competitions, but also need to spend money developing children's sports. Both of the aims are equally important. We just need to use money in reasonable proportion.