Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A group of people believe that retailers and industries should be responsible for reducing the waste of packing their products. Another group think that the customers should assume this responsibility, by avoiding buying goods with a lot of containers. Firstly, it is a fact that materials used to pack products that people buy in everyday life, such as paper or plastic, are a critical problem for the environment. These kinds of materials normally are non-biodegradable and the final destination can be rivers, oceans, and forests. The people who understand that only the companies have the responsibility to decrease the number of boxes of goods have some reason because these enterprises plan, design, make, and sell the products in a way to obtain the maximum profit that is possible. Thus, there is little preoccupation with the destination for the waste of packaging. In contrast, the second point of view is right too, just because the clients decide what to buy and from whom. Thereby, if customers choose to purchase products from vendors that provide ecological boxes and packs, the manufacturers and marts will follow this trend. In conclusion, I believe that both ways of thinking are valid and interdependent. Sellers and buyers together have the responsibility to reuse, reduce, and recycle products ’ packaging, whether producing or requiring sustainable packaging or no packaging. A lot of goods do not really need a pack, but they are only used for sales appeal or convenience. For me, combining efforts with cooperation is the best manner to get sustainable practices and avoid contaminating the environment.