Students should be primarily taught academic subjects so that they can pass exams, and practical skills such as cooking should not be taught. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a widespread belief that only mandatory academic subjects should be taught at school in order for students to pass their exams, whereas other skills, namely cooking, dancing, and sports, should be eliminated from the school's curriculum. Although learning only the core subjects can help students focus more and perform better academically, I partly disagree with this strategy because it would only make students more stressed. Instead, students need to have practical skills to help them transition smoothly into the real world. There is no doubt that some countries, such as South Korea and Japan, that have practiced this academic goal-driven approach in their schools have a proven track record of resulting in the highest rate of stress levels in children in the world, despite their success rate in the education sector. This is because their students are pushed to achieve better results in their upcoming exams and are prohibited from doing any extracurricular activities or playing with their peers, which may be distractions. Consequently, many students may cultivate a stressful school life and a lack of social skills. If this continually occurs, students can be at greater risk of suffering from early-life depression, hindering their studies as well as their social lives.