More and more people no longer read newspaper or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is easy to notice that newspapers and TV are no longer people's go-to choices when they are wondering about what is happening around the world. Instead, internet has become the major pathway leading people to global information. While some think that this development is favourable, I believe that it also has downsides. In my perspective, internet provides accessable and interactive service for people by answering to their requests directly. When people want to acquire news, it is more convenient to open up the news APP installed on the phone, or search on Google for specific events than purchasing newspapers and looking for news, or turning on their TVs to wait for a news program., as such conventional methods do not offer news upon request. Device users may also browse and post comments while reading the news, which allows them to be more engaged and involved in the news events. Nevertheless, such technology development often leave people in information cacoons, where individuals can only see what they want to see and what they are interested in. Nowadays, big data is capable of analyzing users' preference and feed them posts that suit their taste, in order to keep their attention and make them stay. Such functions restrict people from critically seeing the world with all aspects. For example, people who follow lots of celebrities on social media may only see entertainment news, and scholars who recently did literature review via internet may be fed with academic news intensively. They may assume the content they saw is the most popular news. Therefore, using internet as a tool to acquire news may limit people's dialetical view of the world. To conclude, while internet provides convenient and interactive experience to modern readers who get news online, it limits their perspectives and reserves parts of the whole world, which may affect their world value in the long run.