Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Some youngsters are be with their smartphones longer time everyday.The post COVID change in education to online flatform could be a major reason for this, however addiction to social media may prone young kids to be with thire phones all the time.In my opinion, this is a negative development and resons are analyticaly presented in this essay. To commence with, recent transition of education to online flatform like zoom, jamboard and whatsapp Whatsapp have attracted the young audiance to the smartdevices a lot. With the COVID time, teachers used to transform their physical classes to online and they used to give all the home works and assesments assessment in internet flatform, and even in the post COVID era people try to follow the same due to it's convienience convenient. For example, even in a developing country like the Sri Lanka most schools teachers send their assesments and home works via online flatforms like ZOOM channels. Thus students have to use their easily available mobile phones to do those works by letting them to be in their mobilephones all the time. Furthermore, addiction to the social media is a another main reason for the first mention notion.Some students are tring to build their personalities over social media's like Facebook, Tick tok and Youtube,and they need to be in the sites all the time responding and making new stuffs to maintain their status in these platforms. For instance, according to a recent research done by the university of moratuwa 50% of school children in Colombo distric have their own youtube channels. Hence, to maintain them, the kids have to be with their smartphones all the time. In addition, I believe this leads younger generation unhealthy. such as eye injuries and non communicable diseases are common with present day younger generation due to inactivity and always looking at a high resolution screen. In particular, according to the last year national health report 30% of children below 15 yrs are diagnose with type 2 diabetic in Sri Lanka. Therefore, smartphone addiction is a bad trend in todays context. In conclution, educational purposes and social media addiction could be major reasons for youngsters to be in mobile divices all the time while this can lead to unhealthy younger generation in the country. Thus, this writer is in strong notion that children spend hours every day on their smartphones is a negative development.