Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance such as food and housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that rich nations should open the door to more people who have fled their homes from wars or natural disasters and provide them with food and shelter. This essay completely disagrees with this statement because it will put a strain on the host countries’ financial and social security. The first reason why developed countries should limit the number of evacuees entering their homeland is that states have to share their budget in order to accommodate those immigrants. This is to say that the local residents could receive fewer social welfare payments and services than they should have had. Moreover, a considerable amount of money from governments is also allocated for providing necessities for these foreign displaced people. For example, during the Iraq civil war which started some years ago, hundreds of thousands of refugees fled to the neighbouring country Iran, costing this host millions of dollars in humanitarian activities. The same situation repeated in Finland when the Ukraine war broke out last year and Helsinki had to spend a considerable part of its budget on refugee camps while tightening the purse strings on public services and social assistance to its citizens. The second reason for objecting to the opinion of allowing more refugees is its long-term ramifications on society. This is because most of them are poor or illiterate people who completely live on humanitarian aid. As a result, they not only fail to contribute to the host country but also create more potential conflicts and crimes in local areas. For instance, a Finnish study reports a higher rate of crimes such as thieves, prostitution, drugs and violence in areas where refugee camps are located. As it requires local authorities substantial time and effort to settle this community, such situations persist and make local inhabitants feel insecure when going out. To conclude, too many refugees entering their territory could be a burden for even wealthy nations for both financial and social reasons.