Nowadays, people believe that governments should invest tax-payers money in healthcare, while others believe that money should be used in other areas. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

Some argue money from taxes should go to healthcare while others would rather it be spent on other sectors of the economy. I personally think government spending on healthcare is as essential as on other areas. There are certainly many areas of the economy where government investment would be pragmatic, and one such sector is transportation. Transportation is an important catalyst behind economic development. Having improved road infrastructure and air traffic through government funding – paid for by taxpayers – governments can facilitate increased trade. Greater exchange of goods and services, in turn, leads to a dynamic economy. Similarly, spending on security cannot be overstated in today’s politically unstable world. With growing tensions between countries like Russia and Ukraine and Israel and Palestine as well as increasing crime rate in ever-spwarling ever-sprawling cities, investment in both internal and external security is critical to maintain peace, which is essential to citizens’ overall wellbeing and productivity along with their immediate safety. Just as important is government spending on healthcare. It is sensible for governments to invest in healthcare seeing as the overall health of a country is another strong predictor of its economic development. More precisely, a healthy population means a healthy workforce, which drives productivity and high economic output in turn. Furthermore, countries wishing to raise their happiness index also would find healthcare a worthy investment. Having made healthcare accessible and affordable through state subsidies, governments can provide a relief to sick-ridden people, which would ultimately contribute to their contentment. An economic boost and a happy nation, in turn, make for a successful country. In conclusion, no one sector of the economy is less important than the other as they all have a part in driving a nation successful. Hence, I reckon that it is only prudent if governments invest equally in all these sectors.