Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this case? Do you think this is a positive/negative development?

There has been a growing concern revolving around the trend in which plenty of children spend hours and hours daily playing on their smartphones which is due to the unconditional allowance of parents. The writer of this essay believes that this negatively impacts the children ’s mental health as well as prompts addiction to the smart devices in a prolonged period. The frequent use of smartphones by children is mainly due to the lack of supervision their kids in parents. This is not normally the case but as the time goes by, instead of spending time playing with their kids, more and more couples choose smartphones as the assistant as well as the toy for their kids to play. Although the fault is not of some parents owing to the heavy workload they have to deal with, letting children to play alone prolongedly will eventually impact the bond between family members, as children see themselves lack of connection and company of the parents. Nevertheless, despite the possible benefits, smartphones simultaneously pose a threat to the young generation because of their latent, adverse effects on the user’s mental health. The foremost impact that can be noticed is that more and more children much time on smartphones are likely to suffer from psychiatric illnesses unless they do not acknowledge how to protect themselves from cyberbullying or worse, involving in cyber-crime. For instance, many articles have reported that young people who frequently surf the Internet have a higher chance of being victims of online perpetrators, at around 35%. Another worrying issue about this trend is the high possibility of becoming addicted to smartphones as the children play them daily. Simply put, the phenomenon could be explained by knowing that the more time children spend on their phones, the higher the amount of dopamine, a hormone of excitement, that the brain releases. As a result, after a long time playing with the phones, children will feel frustrated and most likely to be distracted from other activities as they can not stay focused until there is an appearance of the smartphones. In brief, the children are dependent on these smart devices and eventually, in the worst case, they are believed to harm anybody who do not let them play the smartphones. In conclusion, the growing trend of children using smartphones daily is a cause for concern on the grounds of parents ‘ reliance on these devices in babysitting their kids. Although to some extent, there are still advantages of this trend, but overusing smartphones can make children develop mental health issues and cause addiction to the smart devices. Therefore, if positive changes are made by parents and children themselves, children will no longer suffer from the destructive habit.