Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree whit this statement?

The global life expectancy is said to be constantly increasing, where human tend to live longer than ever before. This has raised some arguments that the retirement age should be increased greatly. It might be true that putting the age of retirement limit higher can have some advantages. One of the upsides is that it can support the life of older people longer by giving them more time to fill up their savings. Nevertheless, the stakeholders need to consider the health aspect of these elderly communities as well. The age limit was set based on several geriatric considerations. Thus, setting the limit higher might badly influence the individual itself, both physically and psychologically. For instance, if they are asked to work a nine-to-five job for a few more years, there is no guarantee that they would not experience lower back pain or migraine more severely, let alone dealing with boredom and other psychic conditions. Keeping the elderly work longer past their retirement age is also beneficial for companies and institutions since they are the experts of that field, especially in medical, research, or other professional fields that requires long journey for younger generation to get into those positions. However, this also erects another problem: the lack of employment for young people. Younger generations nowadays are facing difficulties in getting job, which lots of them fell into some traps of underpaid jobs. Giving opportunities for the youngsters to take the place and contribute in society might help the economy so that the older generation can get enough pension and rest easy. Moreover, by working a decent job, the youngsters can help the elderly in the family too so that this systemic problem can be minimised. All in all, raising the age of retirement is not the only way to take care of the elderly. In order to strengthen their health and extend their longevity, some other solutions can be implemented, such as letting the younger generation to take over the wheel and giving enough more pension to those who deserve.