Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It becomes a common phenomenon that lots of teenagers choose to socialize online rather than having face-to-face meeting according to many research. The reasons behind this social issue could be included in some facets and several measures could be taken. There are three main reasons in this case. Firstly, advanced technology facillitates people's lives and allows teenagers to contact with each other more conveniently. They are able to chat with friends by phone calls or social networks, which not only saves more time from commuting but also eliminates the expenditure of transportation. Secondly, socialization online could give teenagers private space to hide themselves since they don't need to show their own faces and have more time to respond in many circumstances. Instead, face-to-face communication requires more social skills and more attention on appearance than typing on the screen. Finally, long-distance socialization can be realized through online social networks. Teenagers could make friends acorss cities and countries. Knowing people with different cultural background may be attractive for teenagers who are full of curiosities about the world. Some measures could be taken by government, schools and parents. The authorities could encourage public transportation and some educational public places like museums to provide students account so that the financial concern of teenagers will decrease. Setting up more interesting clubs that meet teenagers ' tastes is a practical solution for schools. Teenagers can join the clubs and have opportunities to talk with people who share the same interests in person. As for parents, they should be more supportive to their kids by giving their children more confidence and trust to do things they like and offer them advise when they confront problems. To conclude, spending more time on socialising online is not just a result of technology advancing, but also a social phenomenon that should be paid more attention by whole society.