Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There appears to be a lack of concurrence on teaching social competencies to the next generations to be good members of society. While some people argue that the responsibility is just for parents, others, myself included, believe this cannot be a duty of parents and educational places can play an important role in it. In the following essay, I will discuss both views in detail. There are reasons why children can be taught better in their family environments. Firstly, due to the friendly atmosphere in their families, they might be influenced by their parents more than educational places. Also, Parents with their knowledge and understanding about their kids know how to educate them to be effective people in the future. Secondly, in order to be a good member of any society the individual should learn to obey the rules in their home and respect their parents at first. So the education of children and teaching them valuable moral concepts like bravery, honesty, and sympathy is widely thought to be the responsibility of parents. However, learning the value of these moral characteristics cannot be achieved just in the home. Once the child goes to school, they are entering a wider community consisting of teachers and peers who will have as much influence as their parents do. At school, children learn how to work and live with people from a wider society with various backgrounds. Dealing with others teaches them how to co-operate with each other and finally gain social competencies. As a consequence, I believe that being a valuable member of a community is not like learning a simple skill and everybody must undertake this responsibility for helping younger generations to be able and efficient members of their society.