At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The question of whether the benefits of having a larger younger population, compared to the aged group in many nations, outweigh the drawbacks, has sparked a substantial discussion recently. While some advocate for this because it ensures enough workforce, others dispute it due to the increase in crime rates. Analyzing these facts would provide an extensive overview of this subject matter. On the one hand, a numerous younger population supports a diverse workforce, which is important for generating tax, vital for the nation’s growth and sustainability. For instance, if Nigeria lacks enough youths in the labor market, it would not be able to generate enough tax, which is essential for infrastructural development, as well as building public amenities. Obviously, countries would lack the required funds to run their affairs if it were not for taxpayer money. Therefore, one of the reasons why a large number of populations should be youths. On the other hand, cities with a majority of young adult groups experience high levels of criminal activities, as most of them opt for fast ways of making money. For example, findings from my recently completed capstone project show that Ghana is battling a high level of insecurity, such as Internet fraud and kidnapping, which is a result of large numbers of young folks. Clearly, the crime rates would have been reduced if the country had more older people. Thus, having more younger folks is a drawback. In conclusion, the notion surrounding whether the merit of the nation's population ought to comprise more youths rather than the elderly overshadows the demerits, has prompted considerable debate. Many advocate for this as it equips the nation with the needed workforce, whereas others dispute it owing to increased crime rates in major cities. Examining this fatality has given a comprehensive understanding of this topic.