Some say the best way to deal with public health issues is to invest in developing new medicines. Others say that a better way is to promote a healthy lifestyle. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some argue that inventing new drugs is the optimal way in dealing with public health problems, while others argue that promoting healthy practices is a better solution. This essay will discuss how drugs have treated diseases and why choosing a healthy lifestyle is the best way to overcome them. To begin with, some argue that developing modern drugs is the best way to treat diseases because it can have some instant effects. It has been proven that they have cured many health issues. There are medicines to cure infections, headaches, chemotherapeutic drugs, and so on. However, taking medications are harmful to the body as well. For example, drugs to treat headaches such as ibuprofen can also damage the kidneys if taken in large doses and consistently taken for a long time. Thus, inventing new drugs is not the optimal way deal with health problems. On the other hand, promoting healthy practices can help prevent many health issues. Most of the causes of many diseases are related to unhealthy lifestyle, thus, making changes in the lifestyle can help solve them and it does not cost people any penny. For instance, if someone wants to fight obesity, he can modify his diet by limiting fatty and sugary foods, and incorporate exercise in his daily routine. That is to say preventing health problems from occuring and recurring can be done by choosing a healthy lifestyle. In conclusion, despite the efficiency of medicines in treating many diseases, however, I believe that making a healthier choice in life is the best way to improve the health of people.