Some people think that watching sports is a waste of leisure time. Do you agree or disagree?

Generally, sport is often considered as a good time. Although there are different behavioral patterns around it: whilst one can actually play sport, one prefers just to observe it. Even though actually playing sports is more preferable, I believe that watching sports might have some positive effects as well. First of all, watching sports could be considered as a plausible reason to spend time together. In other words, it gives us the feeling of unity with our families, friends and neighbors. Not to mention the factor of national and especially international championships, during which the whole community of sport fans is banded together. For instance, in the inquiry of the Kyiv Sociological Society it was mentioned that the Football championship 2012 was the most crucial factor for the growing sentiment of social unity within Ukrainian society. Despite the fact that watching sport creates the satisfying feeling of togetherness, in fact it slightly could be considered as quality time. After all, just singular observing the sport process doesn’t further physical development. In fact, it is an unhealthy substitute to real sports, because instead of continuing to lead a sedentary lifestyle by watching matches, people could actually play sports. As a relative example, researchers of Ukrainian Wellness association concluded that there is a direct connection between tendencies of passive forms of sportive cheerleading by simply watching matches and gradual withdrawal from physical activity within football ultras communities. To conclude, I reiterate my opinion by saying that even though watching sport can give people a pleasant feeling of community, doing sport might be more beneficial.