Today, many people do not know their neighbors in large cities. What problems does this cause? What can be done about this?

Metropolitan cities have been known for their individualistic way of life. This fact can lead to several social problems in the community. This essay will explain several problems caused by this phenomenon, and then suggest some practical solutions. Commonly, people who are living in big cities tend to have less interaction with their neighbors caused by one particular reason. This is because there is a widespread belief that large cities have a high cost of living; so that people choose to work as hard as possible to earn money. This occurs for some reasons, such as to support their family member, and to fulfill demand from society regarding a particular standard of life, like the mandatory of getting married and having children. As a result, it makes people put an extraordinary effort on their target in life which can be time consuming and automatically reduces their time to socialize. In addition, the work culture that has its routine of long hours followed by traffic after that already makes people feel exhausted. Basically, one particular thing could be done about this is to manage the time they have so that they will be able to be involved in any community activities in their neighborhood. People should be self-conscious to know their neighbors since basically they are the closest person around. It could be done by involving in some religious activities, community service, some charity activities, tournaments, and gatherings that are held by the neighborhood. Finally, people must realize that work-life balance should be maintained. By socializing with neighbors people not only have the opportunity to build good relationships but also it is possible to meet people with similar interests, which in my opinion will be beneficial in the future.