Studies have shown that most criminals have low levels of education. Because of this many believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate prisoners so they can get a job after being released. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many argue that being uneducated is the main cause of crime offenses. Several studies have also supported this theory, which led people to believe that education would help prevent repeat offences from commiting crimes. In my point of view, I totally support this idea. However, there are also different better ways to decrease the crime rate. On the one hand, there is no doubt that education in the jail is a practical strategy for reducing the crime rate. Providing several vocational training programs allow inmates to gain a deeper knowledge, valuable life skills and soft skills which facilitate them to get a job after reintegrate back into society. By this way, they still create a value to the society and also their own family instead of being a burden. Additionally, in-prison teaching can foster themselves to look back and be aware of their faulty actions. It can lead to positive behavioral changes and drop the rate of recidivism. On the other hand, while in-jail education can drop the rate of relapsing into crime of commiting inmates, we also have other ways to prevent the crime before it happens. Firstly, for serious offences such as hacking or white collar convicts who pursued a high level education, it is useless when educating them in prison. In this case, people should hand a harsher punishment which gives a deeper bearing on their thoughts and behaviours. Secondly, the crime rate is easily decreased by sharing criminology into early academic programs for youths. By teaching all the drawbacks, consequences of the illegal activities which affect their life, younger people can be raised higher awareness of crimes and avoid being involved in these in the future. To conclude, there is no denying that education plays a critical role in reducing recidivism; otherwise, one also needs to look for other solutions which can prevent crimes from the root.