In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

Before enrolling in the university, students are allowed to work or travel for a year after they graduate from high school. This unique policy has been applied in some countries in recent years. This essay will further explain both the positive and negative impacts of the policy on pupils. Firstly, one of the advantages of working before starting university study is young people will gain more experience related to the job they want to apply. For example, by doing an internship in a certain company, they will enhance both hard and soft skills, especially when they get an opportunity to deliver their thoughts, they are able to present their conceptual ideas, which is a kind of hard skill improvement. Besides, if they are able to communicate well with their colleagues and get feedback, it will definitely boost their soft skills to the next level. Another activity encouraged by governments is travelling. This will refresh students' minds from the hustle culture and will keep their mental health. However, if students spend too much time working or travelling, there is a possibility that they will forget the lessons from their previous school. As for consequence, they need to start all over again and study from the very beginning. Certainly, it takes more time. That is why it is needed for young people to set up their university goals and make schedules to remind them that they are still on track. By doing so, it is also easier for them to manage their study. In conclusion, pupils should know their ability limits. If they think that they need more study, they should stop working or travelling.