Many people argue that restaurants should be required to disclose the nuritional information of the dishes they serve. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is generally argued that restaurants ought to mention the nutritional facts of their menue. Although the hotel industry might lose its profitability by disclosing the information regarding nutrition, they will give awareness to masses about mindful eating. In my opinion, disclosed nutrition value on dishes encourages people to make healthy choices of food despite having plenty of options. The greatest advantage of mentioning the nourishment details on the dishes is that the general public will have a clear picture of their food consumption and subsequent health improvement that would have been impossible otherwise if they selected food on the basis of taste. Although some people read the label information before buying snacks, they order food without paying cognizance to the nutritional value of meal. For instance, a survey shows a decline of 3.2% to 2.9% in consumption of instant noodles since after the label indicated a high sodium and calorie concentration. This conscious approach to meal selection is rightly setting a pattern of a healthy society. The biggest challenge that eatery the sector will face while mentioning the nutritional details of their foods is a decline in their profitability. Though some people prefer taste over the nutritional value, labelling on foods has altered the way people order their food. For example, a recent survey report published by the Malaysian health authority revealed that restaurants have complained that the profit margin is substantianlly declined 13% amid the revealing of food labels as compared to previous years. It is considered the responsibility of hotels to mention the contents of the food they offer. Though, this pattern will impact the margin of their return, it will promote a healthy culture of conscious eating. As a matter of fact, it is the right choices of food that promote overall a healthy society.