Designer goods are becoming more and more popular . However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Designer goods: are they worth it? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

In this sociaty where we are all looking to be better and different to everybody else, it is easy to associate designer goods with quality and value. Owing designer products may have a positive effect on the owners. However, the excessive cost of these items made then unaffordable for a big part of us. On this essay I will consider the pros and cons of purchasing articles. Current research has shown that individuals feel more confident and secure when they are wearing fashion clothes. They would argue that these items fit better on them and that the quality of the materials is superior to other item found in the high street brands. On the contrary, other studies have shown that these high end markets have a huge effect on social behaviour. It has been demostrated that there is rivalry in high schools between those wearing the latest and more expensive item and those students whose parents cannot afford to buy them that type of clothes Moreover, there are also ethical issues associated to these expensive goods, that I think are important to mention. While people are expending money purchasing designer clothes, that most of the times cannot afford, local communities and businesses are not supported. Furthermore, ilegal black markets are appearing offering fake products that most of the times do not meet the minimum quality standards. In conclusion, although designers products have an important place in the market for rich people, the part of the sociaty that have to work to be able to pay their bills should be able to understand that the important human values are not determine by the clothes we are wearing.