Designer goods are becoming more and more popular. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects.

In a society where we are all looking to be better and different to everybody else, it is easy to associate designer goods with quality and value. Owing designer products may have a positive effect on the owners. However, the excessive cost of these items made them unavailable for a big part of society. In this essay, I will consider the pros and cons of purchasing articles. Current research has shown that individuals feel more confident and secure when they are wearing fashionable clothes. They would argue that these items fit better, and that the quality of the materials is superior to other products found in the high street brands. However, other studies have shown that this high-end market has a huge effect on social behaviour. It has been demonstrated that there is rivalry in high schools between those wearing the latest brands and more expensive items and students whose parents cannot afford to buy them those types of articles. Moreover, there are also ethical issues associated to these high-end goods that I think are important to mention. While people are spending money purchasing designer clothes, that most of the times cannot afford, local communities and businesses are not supported. Furthermore, illegal black markets are appearing offering fake products, that most of the times do not meet the minimum quality standards. In conclusion, although designers’ products have an important place in the market for rich people, the part of the society that must work to be able to pay their bills should be able to understand that the important values as humans are not determine by the clothes we are wearing.