Government should spend money on railways rahter than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

It is generally claimed that the trains are what the authorities should invest money in, not the highways. I completely agree with this statement, as not only is it the safer way of travelling but also it serves a wider spectrum of citizens. To begin with, trains are the least dangerous method of transportation, as unfortunate incidents on the railways are a sporadic rarity. Evidence for this was provided in the recent report established by the World Transport Organization, which indicates that never has the annual number of accidents on railways exceeded that of collisions on the roads. Therefore, it is clear that the expansion of the railways might contribute to the safety of inhabitants. Moreover, railway trains undoubtedly fulfil the needs of a broad spectrum of people. In other words, travelling by train can target adults, as well as children or seniors, who are not able to ride a car by themselves. For instance, elderly people are often not capable of driving due to their health conditions, so a local train is their only possibility to either travel or simply get to a supermarket. Similarly, children, who are not old enough to get their driving license can comfortably use trains as their means of transportation to school. Therefore, railways are an investment which could satisfy the demands of many people. To conclude, I strongly believe that authorities should provide capital for new railways rather than highways because it is a safer method of transportation and satisfies the needs of a variety of citizens.