some children spend hours every day on their smartphones why is this the case? do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, young kids tend to spend a long time on their mobile phones, whether it is for entertainment or essential use. Recently, there has been an increase in usage time among children. There are possible reasons for this and personally, I think this is beneficial for them. The details will be elaborated further below. First of all, smartphones can hold much information and can be accessed everywhere and anytime people like. This makes the gadget powerful and addicting, especially for youngsters. Children can play online games, where they can enjoy leisure time with their friends after school. Furthermore, they can keep in touch with their friends through social media, which in turn will slowly hone their networking. This will certainly help them when they grow older and need to establish connections with people. Second of all, young kids can freely access unlimited content to broaden their knowledge. It is particularly important for children who cannot afford private tutoring and their parents are too busy working. Children are able to learn by themselves by watching YouTube videos to solve their homework problems because children do not understand fully the teachers’ explanations at school. Moreover, nowadays there are children who have started making videos to upload on Instagram and YouTube, which is useful to make them practice public speaking. In conclusion, there are various factors that make children use their smartphones for a long time and it is mostly because it is enjoyable. If parents are able to monitor their children's screen usage and control what contents they can access, it will be beneficial for young kids' development.