Some cities have spent a large amount of money on bicycles. Why has this happened? Do you think it is the best way to solve traffic problems?

The investment made in bicycles by some cities is on account of reducing air pollution and improving residents’ health. The writer believes it is because of not adapting to the mobility requirements that spending money on bicycles is not the best solution to traffic problems. One of the main reasons for investing in bicycles is improving air quality. Simply put, unlike fossil fuel vehicles including cars and motorbikes which exhaust fumes into the air, bikes are eco-friendly modes of transportation with no emissions adding to the atmosphere. As a result, it helps reduce air pollution levels, leading to cleaner and healthier environments. Another point is that making an investment in bicycles contributes to creating a healthier life. Undoubtedly, cycling is a form of cardiovascular exercise that gets the heart pumping and strengthens the cardiovascular system along with promoting muscle groups to work. Therefore, the cities aim to help individuals not only maintain a healthy weight but also enhance overall cardiovascular fitness. It must be recognized that bicycles are not the greatest way to solve traffic issues since it does not take into account the needs of mobility. That is to say, different individuals have diverse mobility needs that may not be fully met by bicycles such as travel distance and physical abilities. Another better way is investing in metro trains and subways that not only are more efficient and appropriate but also reduce the number of people using vehicles on the road. In conclusion, the authorities investing in bicycles in order to make cleaner air as well as enhance health, however, it is not the most effective approach to address traffic problems.