Some people think that the generation X ( people between 1997 and 2007) are more dishonest than the previous generations. Why does this happen? Is it a negative or positive development for the society?

In this day and age, the topic of the generation X dishonesty is reported to be worse than the previous ones. The primary reason for people being dishonest is the lack of responsibility. In light of this, I contend that this trend has adverse effects on the attitudes of future generations. A salient point that needs to be considered is that people of generation X tend to be irresponsible. Due to the fact that in their childhood, most parents usually pampered them or even did not teach them to responsible for their mistakes. This, in turn, may lead to a bad habit for their children and when they grow up, they will tend to blame themselves on others in order to avoid responsibility as well as not to be reprimanded. However, this tendency could have a negative consequence in terms of the following generation's way to deal with their crimes. It should be self-evident that individuals often mimic each other and it is true for later generations. In other words, when future generations observe the previous ones commit crimes such as robbers or felons but these criminals were not punished or held accountable for their crimes. As a consequence, these situations will increase the rate of social evils or offenders in the future as the later generations will suppose that they can avoid responsibility by lying and denying their crimes like previous generations did. Thus, it can be seen that the core reason why the generation X are more dishonest than the older is the irresponsibility. Consequently, this has a negative influence on later generation.