Nowadays, some buildings such as offices and schools have open space designs instead of separate rooms. Why is it so? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a number of architectures usually design open space for encouraging community activities as there are some society trend that the interaction between thee people is less than before. It is because the people are more incline to spend time to enjoy their own hobbies. I believe it has positive affects on our whole society. I would like to introduce some reasons why I think that. First, I find that the open space in the workplace makes the abilities of the employees more effective. In the past, most Asian companies had a tendency to make separate rooms for their employees, especially in Asia, as it is for hierarchy. However, there was a study by Seoul University which compared American companies, which have lots of open spaces, with Asian companies, which have separate rooms. It showed that American companies ' worker who works in the company which has open spaces for them have more motivation to work and less stress on their job. The worker replied in a survey, they are satisfied of working space for smooth communication. Therefore, I think the open space in the workplace have a benefit to improve their working abilities. Secondly, designs are also often used in schools to unite students. In the past, there was a significant number of students in one classroom; in addition, they had less stress about studying than nowadays, so they were more animated than they are now. However, nowadays, students usually do not pay attention to other students. The school committee finds that they have to encourage the students to be united to ease that phenomenon. They assert that communication and interaction among students are imperative factors for improving their creativity. In conclusion, I believe making open space has lots of benefits for people.