It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviors to children?

As children's education is becoming increasingly important in our society, some issues surrounding this topic have been intensively debated by public. Some argue that punishment is indispensable in educating children to discern right and wrong in their early age, but I personally believe that punishment may be a helpful solution, but not necessary at all. If someone think there is a necessity to implement some punishment, it should be restricted within several extent. It's commonly believed that children who have suffered from punishment are more likely to perform some rebellious behaviors in the future. Being punished, either physically or mentally, would makes them resent the executors, even through they are teachers or parents. Some alternative measures have been proved to have the same effects in education as punishment, but less harmful. For instance, critique may supplants punishment smoothly. It would leave incisive impression to children about their mistakes, while would not cause potential inner damages. If educators believe that punishment is inevitable in some cases, they should at least adapt some proper ways. Methods involved with some physical activities should be permitted, such as running for a moderate distance, or standing in the corner for a duration within thirty minutes. In other words, those would fatigue children but not cause real wounds should be considered. Forfeiting kids money would be an effective measure as well, because children usually don't have much money and losing them is serious to kids. Teachers and parents could also ask their children to complete some community works, which not only punishes the kids, but also helps the neighborhoods. In conclusion, also punishing children is usually helpful in educating kids to figure out whether something is right. I don't think it's necessary in the process of educating, and if the punishment is inevitable, it should be constrained with some limitations.