Many people around the world use social media everday to keep in touch with other people and get news events. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's digital age, there has been a significant increase in the use of social media to stay in contacct with others and read events announcements. The writer of this essay argues that the disadvantages of fake news and unreliability in security outweigh the advantage of convenience. It is clear that the news posted on social media is not always true, with a high chance being faked. It should be noted that the articles do not go through any fact-checking process. This leads to the presence of gutter press, creating and posting untruthful rumors, gossips which can greatly damage one's reputation. Consequently, the readers are either irritated because of the stories, or they believe in the dishonest journalists, resulting in them knowing and spreading misinformation. Another disadvantage of using social media is the security risk of the platform. An attacker can infiltrate an online chat between two friends to get their private information, which can be used to blackmail or be sold to advertisement companies. In addition, there exist a high risk of being hacked or impersonated online, damaging the owner's reputation and leaving a permanent scar on the Internet. For instance, many people reported their online friends spying on their personal life, trying to take advantage of them. However, there is a small group of people claiming that these platforms are more advantageous. They opine that reading news and chatting with friends have been made easier and more convenient. While they may be true in a way, it is evident that reading online articles from government-controlled websites, and phoning a friend for a conversation is much more reliable, yet still retain the convenience of using online service. As a result, people prefer the more old-fashion style of meeting and reading news. Taking all points into account, the convenience of using social media is outwieghed by the cons of untrue news and unreliabilty. Therefore, it should have been shown that social media should not always be used for everyday activities such as reading events and keeping in touch with friends.