Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes, is one of the most widely-used drugs in the world. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long-term health costs are high – both for smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of healthcare costs and lower productivity. Do governments have a legitimate role to legislate to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to the individual?

Smoking has been long studied for its deleterious health effects; yet it remains the top legally consumed drug in the world. While the perspectives about smoking regulations vary widely, I agree that tobacco should be subjected to a firm regulatory overweight by governments, as I would argue in this essay. Firstly, the main reason for strict legislation lies in the necessity to protect the society as a whole from tobacco harmful effects. Individuals who are heavy smokers not only damage their health but also affect the health of young people and categories at risk; passive smoke and other compounds that are released by smoking have been shown to increase the probability of lung cancer, not only to the direct tobacco consumers, but also to people who live in close contact with them. Thus, nations with prominent welfare policies are facing the consequences of smoking, through increased healthcare costs; given this scenario, governments have the moral imperative to protect all the citizens from health issues. Secondly, together with the health damages by tobacco, governments are responsible also to protect individuals from a heavy addiction which again impact people's mental health and life balance. This is because tobacco reduces the productivity of people who depend on it and should be treated as a drug and, in several cases, also prohibited. Notably, countries such as Italy and England, are in the stage of banning tobacco production to protect people from addictions and this has shown to be a wise decision for the nations that have relieved their inner issues. In conclusion, I agree that governments should regulate the use of tobacco due to the potential health issues that it causes and its addictive properties. I recommend nations to adopt an aggressive strategy to prevent people from abusing tobacco and reducing the damages that it may cause to the mental and physical health.