There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, youngsters have a lot of pressure to be successful in their academic studies. As a consequence, some people think that irrelevant subjects like physical education and cookery must be taken off from the program of study thus young people can be more focused on academic tasks. I do not agree with this statement because I believe some extracurricular subjects can help to develop different skills in children. Firstly, studying a huge range of subjects can help children to learn about different things. Specifically, getting knowledge about non-curricular subjects when we are at school is interesting because helps us to develop many skills apart from those we get studying academic subjects. For example, a recent research conducted by Oxford University has shown that children who spend their first years studying non-academic subjects have more mental flexibility and more skills than those who concentrate only on academic subjects. Secondly, putting pressure on young people to be academically successful could be harmful to their health. Especially, a lot of youngsters suffer from stress during their College years because of the feeling of getting high scores in every subject and also, they have the wrong idea that being successful will help them get better jobs. As a consequence, a lot of students give up on their studies. For example, an article written by Forbes magazine has exposed that 56% of youngsters in the United States have stopped their studies because of all the stress. In conclusion, despite young people's need to start their studies and be successful in their academic subjects, non-curricular topics help to develop others skills and have more capacity to learn about different thing in life.