In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true due to some factors that people tend to grow older these days. In most countries, people tend to live longer, while some individuals say that aging population burdens the government, others opine that elderly people present in society plays an important role. In my perspective, I believe the advantage of having an aging population outweighs the demerits such that, there's the transfer of intergenerational knowledge, enhances cultural richness and bring forth wise community. One most beneficial impact of having older people in society helps transfer inter generational knowledge to young adults. These people carry so much wisdom that could help young people in life. For example, in a traditional society with elderly individuals, grandparents plays a pivotal role in cultural values and wisdom to their grandchildren. Moreover, they also are knowledgeable and tend to value culture wisdom and experience hence, fostering a rich community. Other people also helps young individuals in decision making that can impact their lives. On the other hand, one significant demerit of elderly people is the rising in healthcare and social services. Older people tend to require medical attention as they grow older which puts great burden on government and working force. Social welfare amenities are also provided in supporting their upkeep. Countries such as Japan and China has a large older population hence, the rising of healthcare costs and need since most people need life support and other important items to sustain their wellbeing. To conclude, despite the challenges of older individuals living in society in terms of healthcare and social amenities, the benefits of their existence are greatly profound and I believe supporting aging population can enlighten or society with wide wisdom and values.